The Miracle Brush

General Knowledge
Abu Musa Al-Ash`ari (May Allah be pleased with him) reported: I came to the Prophet (PBUH) once and noticed the tip of Miswak (tooth-stick) on his tongue.(Source:Al-Bukhari and Muslim).

Sunday, 24 December 2006
Hadiths from Sahih Al-Bukhari

These are the hadiths concering the miswak from Sahih Al-Bukhari, with reference to each one.

Sahih Bukhari is a collection of sayings and deeds of Prophet Muhammad (pbuh), also known as the sunnah. Bukhari lived a couple of centuries after the Prophet’s death and worked extremely hard to collect his ahadeeth. Each report in his collection was checked for compatibility with the Qur’an, and the veracity of the chain of reporters had to be painstakingly established. Bukhari’s collection is recognized by the overwhelming majority of the Muslim world to be one of the most authentic collections of the Sunnah of the Prophet (pbuh).

Imam Bukhari (full name Abu Abdullah Muhammad bin Ismail bin Ibrahim bin al-Mughira al-Ja’fai) was born in 194 A.H. and died in 256 A.H. His collection of hadeeth is considered second to none. He spent sixteen years compiling it, and ended up with 2,602 hadeeth (9,082 with repetition). His criteria for acceptance into the collection were amongst the most stringent of all the scholars of ahadeeth.

Volume 1, Book 4, Number 245:

Narrated Abu Burda:

My father said, “I came to the Prophet and saw him carrying a Siwak in his hand and cleansing his teeth, saying, ‘U’ U’,” as if he was retching while the Siwak was in his mouth.”

Volume 2, Book 13, Number 12:

Narrated Abu Huraira:

Allah’s Apostle said, “If I had not found it hard for my followers or the people, I would have ordered them to clean their teeth with Siwak for every prayer.”

Volume 2, Book 13, Number 13:

Narrated Anas:

Allah’s Apostle I said, “I have told you repeatedly to (use) the Siwak. (The Prophet put emphasis on the use of the Siwak.)

Volume 2, Book 13, Number 15:

Narrated ‘Aisha:

AbdurRahman bin Abi Bakr came holding a Siwak with which he was cleaning his teeth. Allah’s Apostle looked at him. I requested Abdur-Rahman to give the Siwak to me and after he gave it to me I divided it, chewed it and gave it to Allah’s Apostle. Then he cleaned his teeth with it and (at that time) he was resting against my chest.

Volume 2, Book 21, Number 237:

Narrated Hudhaifa :

Whenever the Prophet got up for Tahajjud prayer he used to clean his mouth (and teeth) with Siwak.

Volume 3, Book 31, Number 154:

Narrated Abu Huraira:

The Prophet said, “If somebody eats or drinks forgetfully then he should complete his fast, for what he has eaten or drunk, has been given to him by Allah.” Narrated ‘Amir bin Rabi’a, “I saw the Prophet cleaning his teeth with Siwak while he was fasting so many times as I can’t count.” And narrated Abu Huraira, “The Prophet said, ‘But for my fear that it would be hard for my followers, I would have ordered them to clean their teeth with Siwak on every performance of ablution.” The same is narrated by Jabir and Zaid bin Khalid from the Prophet who did not differentiate between a fasting and a nonfasting person in this respect (using Siwak).

Aisha said, “The Prophet said, “It (i.e. Siwak) is a purification for the mouth and it is a way of seeking Allah’s pleasures.” Ata’ and Qatada said, “There is no harm in swallowing the resultant saliva.”

Volume 4, Book 53, Number 332:

Narrated Ibn Abu Mulaika:

‘Aisha said, “The Prophet died in my house on the day of my turn while he was leaning on my chest closer to my neck, and Allah made my saliva mix with his Saliva.” ‘Aisha added, “‘AbdurRahman came with a Siwak and the Prophet was too weak to use it so I took it, chewed it and then (gave it to him and he) cleaned his teeth with it.”

Volume 5, Book 59, Number 722:

Narrated Aisha:

‘Abdur-Rahman bin Abu Bakr entered upon the Prophet while I was supporting the Prophet on my chest. ‘AbdurRahman had a fresh Siwak then and he was cleaning his teeth with it. Allah’s Apostle looked at it, so I took the Siwak, cut it (chewed it with my teeth), shook it and made it soft (with water), and then gave it to the Prophet who cleaned his teeth with it. I had never seen Allah’s Apostle cleaning his teeth in a better way. After finishing the brushing of his teeth, he lifted his hand or his finger and said thrice, “O Allah! Let me be with the highest companions,” and then died. ‘Aisha used to say, “He died while his head was resting between my chest and chin.”

Volume 6, Book 60, Number 93:

Narrated Ibn ‘Abbas:

I stayed overnight in the house of my aunt Maimuna. Allah’s Apostle talked with his wife for a while and then went to bed. When it was the last third of the night, he got up and looked towards the sky and said:

“Verily! In the creation of the Heavens and the Earth and in the alteration of night and day, there are indeed signs for men of understanding.” (3.190)

Then he stood up, performed ablution, brushed his teeth with a Siwak, and then prayed eleven Rakat. Then Bilal pronounced the Adhan (i.e. call for the Fajr prayer). The Prophet then offered two Rakat (Sunna) prayer and went out (to the Mosque) and offered the (compulsory congregational) Fajr prayer.

Volume 9, Book 90, Number 346:

Narrated Abu Huraira:

Allah’s Apostle said, “Were I not afraid that it would be hard on my followers, I would order them to use the siwak (as obligatory, for cleaning the teeth)

[Source: MSA-USC Hadith Database]

Leave a Reply

